Portrait

Quebec’s 12th-largest city, Brossard has over 87,000 residents. Its territory—covering an area of 42.5 km2, including 330 km of roads and 47 km of bicycle paths—is ideally situated along the St. Lawrence River in proximity to Montreal. It offers both high-quality municipal services and easy access to shopping and major highways (Autoroutes 10, 15, 30 and 132). Combined with its peaceful neighbourhoods and superb natural setting, Brossard’s many attractions make it the perfect place for individuals and families to flourish.

Demographic profile

Approximately 37% of the population comes from diverse cultural backgrounds, with the Asian community having a strong presence. Among the more than 87 000 residents, there are 57 different ethnic communities (according to MAMOT’s population decree for 2016). This distinctive feature of the City is without question an invaluable resource that contributes to its development.

During the most recent Census of population in 2016 (Statistics Canada), Brossard totalled 85 721 residents—an increase of 8,1% compared to 2011. The population density was estimated to be 1,895,4 people per square kilometre, based on the territory’s area of 45.2 km2. Brossard had a total of 33,257 private dwellings occupied by permanent residents. 

Brossard’s residents are educated people with a high graduation rate, resulting in a well-qualified, multilingual workforce that is highly attractive to employers. 

20171004_TableauScolariteBrossard_Urbanisme_Web_portrait_EN.JPG

Evolution of population

  • 1958:   3,400 residents
  • 1968: 16,200 residents
  • 1978: 41,700 residents
  • 1988: 57,441 residents
  • 1998: 65,927 residents
  • 2008: 73,041 residents
  • 2010: 76,445 residents
  • 2012: 82,120 residents
  • 2014: 83,410 residents
  • 2016: 86,054 residents
  • 2017: 87, 215 residents

Ethnic Origins
2016 Canadian Census

Ethnic Origin Population (2011) Proportion
Chinese 11,189 13,12%
Black Canadian 3,988 4,68%
Southeast Asian 2,990 3,51%
Arabic 4,721 5,54%
Southeast Asian 2,990 3,51%
Latin American 3,634 4,26%
West Asian 2,460 2,88%
Filipino 532 0,62%
Korean 243 0,28%
Japanese 94 0,11%
Other 1840 2,3%
Multiples 828 0,97%
 

Mother Tongue
2016 Census of Population

Language Population Proportion
French only 48 480 57,41%
English only 20 910 24,76%
English and French 11 430 13,54%
Other languages 3 65 4,34%

For more information about Brossard’s demographic profile, please visit the Statistics Canada website.

Brossard has completely transformed itself over the past few decades. This demographic, economic and social evolution has driven it to adapt to the changing realities of 21st century life. It has become a truly urban, contemporary and global-minded city.

Portrait

Douzième ville en importance au Québec, Brossard compte plus de 87 000 habitants. Son territoire d’une superficie de 42,2 km2, soit 330 km de rues et 47 km de pistes cyclables, possède une situation géographique enviable, en bordure du fleuve Saint-Laurent et à proximité de Montréal. La qualité des services municipaux offerts n’a d’égale que l’accessibilité des commerces et des grandes voies de circulation (autoroutes 10, 15, 30 et 132). Jumelés à la vie paisible de quartier et à un environnement naturel remarquable, ces nombreux attraits font de Brossard un milieu propice à l’épanouissement des individus et des familles.

Profil démographique

Environ 37 % de la population provient de divers horizons culturels, avec une forte représentation de la communauté asiatique. Parmi les 87 215 habitants, on compte 57 communautés (selon le décret de population du MAMOT pour 2016). Il s’agit sans contredit d’un élément distinctif, mais aussi d’une richesse inestimable qui contribue à l’essor de la communauté.

Lors du dernier recensement de la population de 2016 (Statistique Canada), Brossard comptait 85 721 habitants, une hausse de 8,1 % par rapport à 2011. La densité de la population s’estimait à 1 895,4 personnes par kilomètre carré sur un territoire d’une superficie de 45,2 km2. Brossard comptait 33 257 logements privés occupés par des résidents permanents.

Les Brossardois et Brossardoises sont des gens scolarisés qui affichent un taux de diplomation élevé, ce qui en fait un bassin de main-d’œuvre qualifiée et multilingue très attrayant.
  20171004_TableauScolariteBrossard_Urbanisme_Web_portrait.JPG

Évolution de la population

  • 1958 :   3 400 habitants
  • 1968 : 16 200 habitants
  • 1978 : 41 700 habitants
  • 1988 : 57 441 habitants
  • 1998 : 65 927 habitants
  • 2008 : 73 041 habitants
  • 2010 : 76 445 habitants
  • 2012 : 82 120 habitants
  • 2014 : 83 410 habitants
  • 2016 : 86 054 habitants
  • 2017 : 87 215 habitants

Origines ethniques

Origine ethnique Population (2017) Pourcentage
Chinois 11 189 13,12 %
Afro-Américains 3 988 4.68 %
Sud-Asiatiques 3 322 3,9 %
Arabes 4 721 5,54 %
Asiatiques du Sud-Est 2 990 3,51 %
Latino Américains 3 634 4,26 %
Asiatiques occidentaux 2 460 2,88 %
Philippins 532 0,62 %
Coréens 243 0.28 %
Japonais 94 0,11 %
Autres 1 254 1,47 %
Multiples 828 0,97 %
 

Langue maternelle
Recensement canadien de 2016 sur une population de 84 485 habitants.

Langue Population Pourcentage
Français seulement 48 480 57,41 %
Anglais seulement 20 910 24,76 %
Anglais et français 11 430 13,54 %
Autres langues  3 665 4,34 %


Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le profil du recensement de Brossard, consultez le site Internet de Statistique Canada.

Brossard s’est profondément transformée au cours des dernières décennies. Cette évolution démographique, économique et sociale l’a incitée à s’adapter aux réalités changeantes du 21e siècle. Brossard est résolument une ville urbaine, contemporaine et ouverte sur le monde !